All posts by Thomas Kilpper

atb#90 – String Figures

Jamila Barakat, Mengna Tan, Eva Ďurovec and Nikita Kadan

Opening Friday, April 1, from 7 pm

Exhibition: April, 2 – May, 15 2022

Finissage: Sunday, May 15, from 3-6pm

Open by appointment: mailto@after-the-butcher.de or +49 178 3298 106 
30 April, 6pm: Book Launch „New Mind Mapping Forms“ by Eva Ďurovec

In the exhibition rooms, please keep your distance and wear mouth and nose masks.

After the Butcher, Showroom for Contemporary Art and Social Issues is happy to present its next exhibition “String Figures” with artists Jamila Barakat, Mengna Tan, Eva Ďurovec and Nikita Kadan.

In Donna Haraways “Staying With The Trouble“, one figure is omnipresent: SF. This figuration seems to be more than just an abbreviation. It seems to be a subject that opens up different opportunities and methods, thought experiments and common practices of exchange and interaction. Cross-species practices that sometimes work, sometimes fail, are active and sometimes stay still.
Like string figures, they propose and enact patterns for participants to inhabit, somehow, on a vulnerable and wounded earth. Haraway describes the figure with the letters SF that can be: Science Fiction, speculative fabulation, string figures, speculative feminism, science fact, so far…

“I think of sf and string figures in a triple sense of figuring. First, promiscuously plucking out fibers in clotted and dense events and practices, I try to follow the threads where they lead in order to track them and find their tangles and patterns crucial for staying with the trouble in real and particular places and times.”
D.H.

By playing string figures, new patterns or images are formed that reveal new entanglements and interconnections.

In the exhibition “String figures” the artists are tracing SF by working, failing and exploring themes and contexts of speculative feminism, speculative fabulation, science fiction and so far…  
A dialogue with each other begins, connections with each other emerge. While we prepare this exhibition the Russian regime under Putin launched its war against Ukraine. For this reason we decided to pick up another thread: we invited the Ukrainian artist Nikita Kadan (he has to protect himself in Kiev against Russian bombing) to join the exhibition. We are happy to be able to show two of his wonderful charcoal drawings from the series „Minsk Masks“ in String Figures*). In this respect, SF may also be read as a sign against war: stay friends or seid friedlich (be peaceful) instead of Strike Forces.

*) Nikita Kadan writes: “I found these ‘masks’ in ornaments on the ceiling of the Minska station of the Kyiv Metro since I was six years old. They were really scary, and I felt that I could always find new ones. The ornamental composition “Tree of Life”, based on Belarusian folk ornaments, was created by the artists Stepan and Vasyl Khymochka in 1982, the year I was born. Much later I found out that Belarus was historically associated with a partisan movement – these associations can give new meaning to the camouflaged faces hidden among the floral motifs.” These drawings are very topical in that metro stations such as Minska station in Kiev at the moment serve as shelters from Russian shelling and bombardment….

http://www.mirmetro.net/kyiv/cruise/02/11_minska

atb #83 | Learning to Dwell otherwise within the ruins

Vermeir & Heiremans, Julia Cremers & PARALLAX Lab

Press Release

Learning to dwell otherwise within the ruins
Vermeir & Heiremans, Julia Cremers & PARALLAX Lab

Exhibition: March 19 – April 25, 2021

In its upcoming exhibition, after the butcher is pleased to present two artist positions whose work deals with buildings, ruins and questions of their value creation. At the same time, both positions approach the broad field of speculation and reclaim agency – new modes of action – against it.

The artist duo Vermeir & Heiremans will show the short film A Modest Proposal (in a Black Box). The film explores whether “financialization” can be repurposed as a tool for creating more just conditions. The artists propose a model to financialize public art collections, museum properties and/or their symbolic capital. This model aims to create a cycle of wealth that benefits not only investors and institutions, but also the creators of these assets, the original stakeholders – the artists and art workers.

As a case study in the film, Vermeir & Heiremans discuss the financialization of the Pump House Gallery in Battersea Park, London with their lawyer. The gallery is located near Battersea Power Station, a former coal-fired power station from the mid-20th century, which after 40 years of vacancy is currently being converted into a luxury shopping center including luxury flats with the participation of “starchitects” such as Frank Gehry and Foster & Partners. The rising property values in its neighborhood will “pump up” the asset value of the gallery building. Introducing this into the artists’ global financial model will distribute surplus values for the wider art community.

Which part of this is ironic critique and which is longing for participation? In any case, the artists expose the social tensions and contradictions generated by speculation and profit maximization alongside the fundamental need for housing.

Julia Cremers and PARALLAX show their collective video and 3D works Ruin Figments and Reconstructed Memories. Both works are centred around an architectural site built in Vienna’s Schoenbrunn Palace Park in the year 1778, depicting the remains after the Roman siege of Carthage in 146 BC. This fake ruin, in line with landscaping fashions of the 18th century, was meant to manifest the power of the Habsburg Monarchy, claiming their imperial pursuits by identifying with the victorious Roman Empire: a speculation on cultural capital.
PARALLAX’ work is a further reimagining of this folly within the present. The ruin’s virtual counterpart is extracted through photogrammetric methods, then distorted and rematerialized. The resulting 3D printed sculpture calls attention to the implicit alterations at each reproduction stage, hereby questioning the cultural impact of imperial collapse and its appropriation by new power structures. The video essay is another uncovering of this layered entity, exposing the material resources and human efforts that are required for the construction of (virtual) spaces.
A third visual element are the photographs Ruins by Julia Cremers, which show military fortifications from the period of Nazi fascism and the German occupation in Bergen/Norway. Today, they serve as a backdrop for raves. The repurposing of these historically burdened sites for festive events can be seen as both problematic and liberating at the same time. It represents a form of reappropriation of charged places, overlaid with new narratives and cultural meaning, thus continuing to write history.

Beitrag ansehen

A Modest Proposal (in a Black Box) will be accompanied by a publication which brings together a series of essays that were presented in a symposium, organized by Vermeir & Heiremans at the Royal College of Art, London in 2018.

Film credits:
HD Video, 28′ 7″, sound & colour, UK-Belgium, 2018
with Luke Mason, Heike Langsdorf, Vermeir & Heiremans
Camera: Amir Borenstein
Sound: Justin Bennett

Production: Jubilee vzw, with the support of: The Flemish Community; Art et Recherche asbl; Federation Wallonie-Bruxelles; Pump House Gallery; Wandsworth Council; Enable Leisure and Culture; Art Council England; Cockayne-Grants for the Arts; The London Community Foundation

Ruin Figments and Reconstructed Memories 
Video essay and 3D printed sculpture 

Film credits: 
HD Video, sound & colour, Germany-Austria, 2021
Camera: Lena Kocutar, Daniel Viladrich Herrmannsdoerfer, Julia Cremers
Sound and Editing: Julia Cremers 
Research: Lena Kocutar, Daniel Viladrich Herrmannsdoerfer, Polina Nikoulitcheva, Julia Cremers

Ruins
Three digital prints, photography
by Julia Cremers 

Vermeir & Heiremans presented work at: 10th and 13th Istanbul Biennial (2007 & 2013), Arnolfini, Bristol (2009), Nam June Paik Art Center, Yongin (2010), Viennale, Vienna (2011), 7th Shenzhen Sculpture Biennial (2012), Manifesta 9, Limburg (2012), Argos, Brussels (2012), Extra City, Antwerp (2012), Riga Art Space (2013), Rotwand Gallery, Zurich (2014), Triennale Brugge (2015), Dojima River Biennale, Osaka (2015), Georg Kargl Gallery, Vienna (2015), Transmediale, Berlin (2016), Bucharest Biennale 7 (2016), Glassyard Gallery, Budapest (2018), The Atlantic Project, Plymouth (2018), Pump House Gallery, London (2018), Carico Massimo, Livorno (2019), Kunsten Museum of Modern Art, Aalborg (2020).

Julia Cremers graduated with a Bachelor of Audiovisual Art at the Gerrit Rietveld Academy Amsterdam in 2016, and a Master of Fine Art at the University of Bergen Faculty of Fine Art in 2018. Julia presented work at: Dutch Design Week Eindhoven (2014), Van Nelle Fabriek Rotterdam (2015), Gallery Bart Amsterdam (2016), Eye Film Museum (2016), Bergen Kunsthall (2018), Deichtorhallen Hamburg (2019), Errant Sound (2020), Alte Feuerwache Köln (2020), Berlin School Of Sound (2021). Cremers has been a member of Errant Sound since September 2020.

PARALLAX Lab, Ruin Figments and Reconstructed Memories is a collaborative project initiated by artist Julia Cremers with students Daniel Viladrich Herrmannsdoerfer (Technomathematics, TU), Polina Nikoulitcheva (Architecture, TU) and Lena Kocutar (Lensbased Class, UdK). Produced as part of PARALLAX Lab, an initiative of the Berlin University of the Arts and the Technical University Berlin. With the support of FormLabs Berlin.

funded by:

Alle Beiträge von Thomas Kilpper

atb#90 – String Figures

Jamila Barakat, Mengna Tan, Eva Ďurovec und Nikita Kadan

Ausstellungseröffnung: Freitag, 1. April ab 19 Uhr

Ausstellung 2. April – 15. Mai 2022

Finissage: Sonntag, 15. Mai – 15-18 Uhr

geöffnet nach vorheriger Anmeldung: mailto@after-the-butcher.de oder +49 178 3298 106 
30. April, 18 Uhr: Book Launch „New Mind Mapping Forms“ von und mit Eva Ďurovec
In den Ausstellungsräumen bitten wir Abstand zu halten und Mund- Nasenschutzmasken zu tragen. 

After the Butcher, Ausstellungsraum für zeitgenössische Kunst und soziale Fragen, freut sich, seine nächste Ausstellung „String Figures“ mit den Künstlerinnen Jamila Barakat, Mengna Tan, Eva Durovec und Nikita Kadan zu präsentieren.

In Donna Haraways Staying With The Trouble ist eine Figur allgegenwärtig: SF. Diese Figuration scheint mehr zu sein als nur eine Abkürzung. Sie scheint ein Subjekt zu sein, das verschiedene Möglichkeiten und Methoden, Gedankenexperimente und gemeinsame Praktiken des Austauschs und der Interaktion eröffnet. Medienübergreifende und multidisziplinäre Praktiken, die manchmal funktionieren, manchmal scheitern, aktiv sind und manchmal stillstehen.
Wie Fadenfiguren schlagen sie den Teilnehmer:innen Muster vor, die sie auf einer verletzlichen und verwundeten Erde irgendwie beleben können, und setzen sie um. Haraway beschreibt die Figur mit den Buchstaben SF.
SF kann vieles sein: Science Fiction, spekulative Fabulation, String-Figuren, spekulativer Feminismus, Science-Fact, so far…

„Ich denke an SF und Fadenfiguren in einem dreifachen Sinne von Figuration. Erstens versuche ich, die Fasern in verklumpten und dichten Ereignissen und Praktiken herauszuziehen und den Fäden zu folgen, wohin sie führen, um sie aufzuspüren und ihre Verwicklungen und Muster zu finden, die entscheidend dafür sind, dass man an realen und besonderen Orten und Zeiten an den Knackpunkten bleibt.“

Durch das Spielen mit Fadenfiguren entstehen neue Muster oder Bilder, die neue Verstrickungen und Zusammenhänge offenbaren.In der Ausstellung „String figures“ sind die Künstler:innen der SF auf der Spur, indem sie Themen und Kontexte des spekulativen Feminismus, der spekulativen Fabulierung, der Science Fiction und so weiter (and so far) bearbeiten, scheitern und erforschen…
Ein Dialog untereinander beginnt, Verbindungen zueinander entstehen.
Während wir die Ausstellung vorbereiten, hat das russische Regime unter Putin seinen Krieg gegen die Ukraine begonnen. Aus diesem Grund haben wir beschlossen, einen weiteren Faden aufzugreifen: Wir haben den ukrainischen Künstler Nikita Kadan eingeladen, an der Ausstellung teilzunehmen. Kadan lebt in Kiew und muss sich in seinem Heimatland vor den russischen Bombardements schützen. Wir freuen uns, zwei seiner beeindruckenden Kohlezeichnungen aus der Serie „Minsk Masks“ zeigen zu können*). Insofern kann SF auch als ein Zeichen gegen den Krieg gelesen werden: stay friends oder seid friedlich statt Strike Forces.

*) Nikita Kadan schreibt: „Diese ‚Masken‘ habe ich in Ornamenten an der Decke der Minska-Station der Kiewer Metro gefunden, als ich sechs Jahre alt war. Sie waren wirklich beängstigend, und ich hatte das Gefühl, dass ich immer wieder neue finden kann. Die ornamentale Komposition „Baum des Lebens“, die auf belarussischen Volksornamenten basiert, wurde von den Künstlern Stepan und Vasyl Khymochka 1982, dem Jahr meiner Geburt, geschaffen. Viel später fand ich heraus, dass Belarus historisch gesehen mit einer Partisanenbewegung in Verbindung gebracht wurde – diese Assoziationen können den getarnten Gesichtern, die sich zwischen den Blumenmotiven verbergen, eine neue Bedeutung verleihen.“ Diese Zeichnungen sind insofern sehr aktuell, dass U-Bahn-Stationen wie die Minska-Station in Kiew bekanntlich im Moment den Menschen als Schutz vor dem Beschuss und der Bombardierung dienen…

http://www.mirmetro.net/kyiv/cruise/02/11_minska

atb #83 | Learning to Dwell otherwise within the ruins

Vermeir & Heiremans, Julia Cremers & PARALLAX Lab

Pressemitteilung

Learning to dwell otherwise within the ruins

Vermeir & Heiremans, Julia Cremers & PARALLAX Lab

Ausstellung: 19. März 2021 – 25. April 2021

after the butcher freut sich, in der kommenden Ausstellung zwei Künstler*innenpositionen zu zeigen, deren Arbeit sich mit Gebäuden, Ruinen und Fragen ihrer Wertschöpfung auseinandersetzt. Gleichzeitig nähern sich beide Positionen dem weiten Feld der Spekulation und fordern neue Handlungsräume dagegen ein.

Das Künstlerduo Vermeir & Heiremans zeigt den Kurzfilm A Modest Proposal (in a Black Box). Der Film untersucht, ob „Finanzialisierung“ zu einem Werkzeug für die Schaffung gerechterer Verhältnisse umgewidmet werden kann. Die Künstlerinnen schlagen ein Modell vor zur Finanzialisiserung öffentlicher Kunstsammlungen, Museumsimmobilien und/oder deren symbolisches Kapital. Dieses Modell soll einen Kreislauf des Wohlstands erzeugen, von dem nicht nur Investoren und Institutionen profitieren, sondern auch die Schöpferinnen dieser Werte, die ursprünglichen Teilhaberinnen – die Künstlerinnen und Kunstschaffenden.

Im Film diskutieren Vermeir & Heiremans die Finanzialisierung der Pump House Gallery im Battersea Park in London als Fallbeispiel mit ihrem Anwalt. Die Galerie befindet sich in der Nähe der Battersea Power Station, einem ehemaligen Kohlekraftwerk aus der Mitte des 20. Jahrhunderts, das nach 40 Jahren Leerstand derzeit unter Beteiligung von „Starchitekten“ wie Frank Gehry und Foster & Partners zu einem Luxus-Einkaufszentrum samt Luxus-Appartements umgebaut wird. Die steigenden Immobilienwerte in der Nachbarschaft werden den Vermögenswert des Galeriegebäudes in die Höhe „pumpen“. Bezieht man dies in das globale Finanzmodell der Künstler ein, würden Mehrwerte für die breitere Kunstgemeinschaft ausgeschüttet.
Was davon ist ironische Kritik und was Sehnsucht nach Teilhabe? In jedem Fall legen die Künstler*innen die erzeugten sozialen Spannungen und Widersprüche zwischen Spekulation und Profitmaximierung und Grundbedürfnissen nach Wohnraum offen.

Julia Cremers und PARALLAX zeigen ihre kollektiven Video- und 3D-Arbeiten Ruin Figments and Reconstructed Memories (Fantasierte Ruinen und Rekonstruierte Erinnerungen). Im Zentrum beider Arbeiten steht eine Architekturanlage im Wiener Schlosspark Schönbrunn aus dem Jahr 1778, die die Überreste nach der römischen Belagerung von Karthago 146 v. Chr. darstellt.
Diese künstliche Ruine, die zur Mode der Landschaftsgestaltung im 18. Jahrhundert passte, sollte die Macht der Habsburger Monarchie manifestieren und deren imperiales Streben über die Identifikation mit dem siegreichen Römischen Reich legitimieren: Spekulation auf kulturelles Kapital.

Die Arbeit von PARALLAX ist eine Fortführung dieser Reimaginationsprozesse in die Gegenwart hinein. Das virtuelle Pendant der Ruine wird mit fotogrammetrischen Methoden extrahiert, anschließend verzerrt und rematerialisiert. Die daraus resultierende 3D-gedruckte Skulptur macht auf implizite Veränderungen jeder Reproduktionsphase aufmerksam und hinterfragt so die kulturellen Auswirkungen des imperialen Zusammenbruchs und dessen Aneignungsversuche durch neue Machtstrukturen. Der Videoessay ist eine weitere Enthüllung dieses vielschichtigen Gebildes und legt die materiellen Ressourcen und menschlichen Anstrengungen offen, die für die Konstruktion von (virtuellen) Räumen erforderlich sind.

Ein drittes visuelles Element sind die Fotografien unter dem Titel Ruins von Julia Cremers, die militärische Befestigungsanlagen aus der Zeit des Nazi-Faschismus und der deutschen Besatzung in Bergen/Norwegen zeigen. Heute dienen sie als Kulisse für Raves. Die Umwidmung dieser historisch belasteten Orte für Veranstaltungen und Feiern kann als problematisch und befreiend zugleich betrachtet werden. Sie stellt eine Form der Wiederaneignung historisch aufgeladener Räume dar, die mit neuen Erzählungen und kultureller Bedeutung überlagert werden und so die Geschichte weiterschreiben.

A Modest Proposal (in a Black Box) wird von einer Publikation begleitet, die eine Reihe von Aufsätzen eines Symposiums zusammenfasst, das 2018 von Vermeir & Heiremans am Royal College of Art, London organisiert wurde.

Filmnachweis:

HD Video, 28′ 7″, Ton & Farbe, UK-Belgien, 2018
mit Luke Mason, Heike Langsdorf, Vermeir & Heiremans
Kamera: Amir Borenstein
Ton: Justin Bennett

Produktion: Jubilee vzw, mit Unterstützung von: Die Flämische Gemeinschaft; Art et Recherche asbl; Federation Wallonie-Bruxelles; Pump House Gallery; Wandsworth Council; Enable Leisure and Culture; Art Council England; Cockayne-Grants for the Arts; The London Community Foundation

Ruin Figments and Reconstructed Memories, Video-Essay und 3D-gedruckte Skulptur 

Filmnachweis: 
HD Video, Ton & Farbe, Deutschland-Österreich, 2021
Kamera: Lena Kocutar, Daniel Viladrich Herrmannsdoerfer, Julia Cremers
Ton und Schnitt: Julia Cremers
Research: Lena Kocutar, Daniel Viladrich Herrmannsdoerfer, Polina Nikoulitcheva, Julia Cremers

Vermeir & Heiremans präsentierten Arbeiten bei: 10. und 13. Istanbul Biennale (2007 & 2013), Arnolfini, Bristol (2009), Nam June Paik Art Center, Yongin (2010), Viennale, Wien (2011), 7. Shenzhen Sculpture Biennial (2012), Manifesta 9, Limburg (2012), Argos, Brüssel (2012), Extra City, Antwerpen (2012), Riga Art Space (2013), Rotwand Gallery, Zürich (2014), Triennale Brugge (2015), Dojima River Biennale, Osaka (2015), Galerie Georg Kargl, Wien (2015), Transmediale, Berlin (2016), Bucharest Biennale 7 (2016), Glassyard Gallery, Budapest (2018), The Atlantic Project, Plymouth (2018), Pump House Gallery, London (2018), Carico Massimo, Livorno (2019), Kunsten Museum of Modern Art, Aalborg (2020).

Julia Cremers absolvierte 2016 in Audiovisueller Kunst an der Gerrit Rietveld Academy Amsterdam (Bachelor) und 2018 in Bildender Kunst an der University of Bergen Faculty of Fine Art (Master). Sie präsentierte Arbeiten bei: Dutch Design Week Eindhoven (2014), Van Nelle Fabrik Rotterdam (2015), Gallerie Bart Amsterdam (2016), Eye Film Museum (2016), Bergen Kunsthall (2018), Deichtorhallen Hamburg (2019), Errant Sound (2020), Alte Feuerwache Köln (2020), Berlin School Of Sound (2021). Cremers ist seit September 2020 Mitglied bei Errant Sound.

PARALLAX Lab, Ruin Figments and Reconstructed Memories ist ein Gemeinschaftsprojekt initiiert von der Künstlerin Julia Cremers mit den Studierenden Daniel Viladrich Herrmannsdoerfer (Technomathematik, TU), Polina Nikoulitcheva (Architektur, TU) und Lena Kocutar (Lensbased Class UdK). Produziert im Rahmen von PARALLAX Lab, einer Initiative der Universität der Künste Berlin und der Technischen Universität Berlin. Mit der Unterstützung von FormLabs Berlin.

gefördert durch: